About Us

Fire safety services are provided to Village & Township residents in a joint effort by the Village of Sparta and Sparta Township. Both the Village and the Township fund the Sparta Fire Department to ensure that a high level of fire safety is provided to their residents.

The Sparta Fire Board, composed of members from the Sparta Village Council and the Sparta Township Board of Trustees, is responsible to guide the departments operation. Currently, the Sparta Fire Board has appointed Daniel Olney as Chief to direct the day-to-day operations of the fire department. Leonard “Skip” Meyer is the Chairman of the Fire Board. Sandra Keech-Chamblis is a village representative. Meetings are held at the house, adjacent to the fire station, at 36 Elmwood Street (the meetings are no longer held at 160 E. Division Street).

Chief Olney supervises a staff of 30 on-call firefighters.

For more information regarding the fire department and the services they provide, please contact:

Sparta Fire Department
Chief Daniel Olney

36 Elmwood Street
Sparta, MI 49345-1014

Emergencies: 911
General Phone: 616-887-0900
Email: danolney@spartafiremi.org